If a Maryland state agency or District Court judge determines that you must complete driver rehabilitation instruction, sign up with a call to Friendly Driving Academy. We're a Maryland-approved DIP provider.
Driver Improvement Program at a glance
Friendly Driving Academy
1055 Ingleside Avenue
Catonsville, MD 21228
Weekdays: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturdays: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Is there a refund policy?
Yes. If you become ill and let us know in advance, we can offer a refund. Better yet, simply call ahead to reschedule the session. You cannot receive a refund if you complete the exam and we issue your certificate of completion. If we must cancel a date due to inclement weather, we'll contact you to reschedule.
Is there a penalty for not completing the program on time?
In most cases, the validity of your driver's license depends upon completing the program by the deadline the MVA stipulates. If that date passes, your license has likely been suspended and you should no longer drive until completing the arrangements that MVA clarifies.
What are my options if I fail the exam?
If you do not earn the required minimum score of 80%, you can retake the test after 24 hours. The fee to only take the exam is $30.
How do I prove to the MVA that I've completed the program?
Once you pass the DIP exam, Friendly Driving Academy will send this information electronically to the MVA, which in turn will add it to your official driving record. If your license is suspended, directly contact the MVA DIP division to ensure you have permission to drive.
Can I enroll for the program without an MVA referral?
If you simply want to advance your driving education, you're welcome to sign up. However, if you're enrolling to meet a requirement imposed as a result of a ticket outside Maryland, it's your duty to forward your completion certificate to the proper court or authority.
Does completing the course subtract points from my record?
Unfortunately, no. All points that accumulate on your official driving record remain for 2 years from the date of the recorded violation.
What you need to bring with you to class
Cost is $80 for cash, $85 if you pay with a credit card
You can complete the 4- to 6-hour class in 1 day
You must achieve a passing score of 80% on the test
We schedule program sessions to fit your availability
Valid driver's license
Your letter from the MVA
Full advance payment